Snow in Cape Town

The wolf and I were arbing around The V&A Waterfront this weekend when the hail storm hit our supposedly sunny city. It was an instant distraction from the boring “threads” we were checking out on the rails of a newly opened and very popular shop (Topshop I hate you because you’re so expensive but I want you. I want you bad).

We jumped in the car and went on a mini adventure to find where the “snow” had hit the hardest.

I took a few shots:

Snow in Cape Town - layers of hail near the V&A Waterfront

Snow in Cape Town – layers of hail near the V&A Waterfront

Snow in Cape Town - hail collected in the gutters

Snow in Cape Town – hail collected in the gutters

Snow in Cape Town - the temperature dropped to 6 degrees

Snow in Cape Town – the temperature dropped to 6 degrees

Snow in Cape Town - some of the shopfronts looked like they were in Europe rather than the Mother City

Snow in Cape Town – some of the shopfronts looked like they were in Europe rather than the Mother City

We’ve been fooling around (well, I have; the wolf knows what he’s doing) with film cameras lately so had a couple with us. We drove to Sea Point to see how heavy the hail storm had been. I’ve never seen so much “snow”. We even got stuck at the top of an iced-over road for half and hour. Madness I tell you.

Here are some of my favourite photos of the snow in Cape Town floating around Facebook:

Sea Point main road

Sea Point main road

Found here.

Another snowy scene

Another snowy scene

From here.

Cape Town Hail 2013

Cape Town Hail 2013

From here.

Lastly:

A cool video on Facebook here.

Cannot wait to have our two spools of film developed. Will be interesting to see how the snow shows up on film.

Also, I don’t care what anybody says: I’m calling it snow.

Tell me sweet things

